2018-19 Annual Awards - Awards

2018-19 Annual Awards

Charles Cuttler Award for Contributions to the History of Art 2019

This annual award is named in honor of Art Historian and Midwest Art History Society founder, Charles Cuttler. It honors art historians, curators, museum directors, patrons, or others who have made significant contributions to the history of art that has special significance to the Midwest and is associated with the annual conference site. The award, in the amount of $1000, will be donated to the Midwestern visual arts organization of the recipient’s choice. This donation is intended to further the appreciation and understanding of the history of art through the selected organization. The award will be presented at the annual conference. Winners will be listed online and in the newsletter. In addition, a press release will be provided to national and international art media in an effort to promote the winner, the award, and MAHS.

Dr. Kristi Nelson, Executive Vice President and Provost, Professor Emeritus of Art History, University of Cincinnati

President's Award 2019

This special award is given to an individual or individuals to recognize exemplary efforts, leadership and service in furthering the mission of the Midwest Art History Society.

Dr. David Stark, Chief Curator of the Columbus Museum of Art, received the President’s Award from Dr. Hornik for his twenty years of service to the Midwest Art History Society.