2017-18 Annual Awards - Awards

2017-18 Annual Awards

Charles Cuttler Award for Contributions to the History of Art 2018

This annual award is named in honor of Art Historian and Midwest Art History Society founder, Charles Cuttler. It honors art historians, curators, museum directors, patrons, or others who have made significant contributions to the history of art that has special significance to the Midwest and is associated with the annual conference site. The award, in the amount of $1000, will be donated to the Midwestern visual arts organization of the recipient’s choice. This donation is intended to further the appreciation and understanding of the history of art through the selected organization. The award will be presented at the annual conference. Winners will be listed online and in the newsletter. In addition, a press release will be provided to national and international art media in an effort to promote the winner, the award, and MAHS.

Ellen Wardwell Lee, Senior Curator Emerita, European and American Painting and Sculpture

Award for Outstanding Catalog 2017

Award for outstanding catalog based on scholarly contributions to the field, quality of writing, and design. Entries comprised a large pool and broad range of impressive entries from across the country. There were dual winners.

Award for Outstanding Catalog, Smaller Museums 2017

Award for outstanding catalog, museums with annual budgets under $750,000, based on scholarly contributions to the field, quality of writing, and design.

  • The Curious Case of Color, The Galleries at Cleveland State University.

The President’s Award

This special award is given to an individual or individuals to recognize exemplary efforts, leadership and service in furthering the mission of the Midwest Art History Society.

  • Dr. Robert Randolph Coleman, Professor of Emeritus at University of Norte Dame and Dr. Judith W. Mann, Curator of European Art to 1800 at the Saint Louis Art Museum, were presented the 2018 President’s Award by Dr. Heidi J. Hornik in recognition of their many years service in numerous roles to MAHS.

Graduate Student Presentation Award 2018

Awarded to an outstanding graduate student paper delivered at the MAHS annual conference, nominated by conference panel chair and selected by a committee of MAHS board members. The winner receives free membership in MAHS for two years, plus five volumes from the History of Art series published by Oxford University Press. MAHS thanks the Oxford Press for its sponsorship.

  • Kaylee Alexander, Ph.D. candidate, Duke University, "Père-Lachaise in 1815: A New Method in the Study of Ephemeral Funerary Monuments”

Emerging Scholar Distinguished Presentation Award 2018

Award granted to an outstanding paper presented at the MAHS annual conference by an art historian who received their Ph.D. within the last five years. The award includes membership in MAHS for three years.

  • Lauren DeLand, Ph.D., Indiana University Northwest, “It's Too Late to Be Late Again: Failure, Repetition, and Queer Time in the Performances of Sharon Hayes”