2016-17 Annual Awards - Awards

2016-17 Annual Awards

Award for Outstanding Catalog 2016

Award for outstanding catalog based on scholarly contributions to the field, quality of writing, and design. Entries comprised a large pool and broad range of impressive entries from across the country.

Charles D. Cuttler Award for Contributions to the History of Art 2017

Named for MAHS founder Charles D. Cuttler, to honor art historians, museum directors, patrons, and others who have made contributions to the history of art, with special attention to the Midwest. $1,000 will be donated by MAHS to a Midwestern arts organization of the recipient's choice.

  • Jane Glaubinger, Prints and Drawing Curator, retired, Cleveland Museum of Art

Graduate Student Presentation Award 2017

Awarded to an outstanding graduate student paper delivered at the MAHS annual conference, nominated by conference panel chair and selected by a committee of MAHS board members. The winner receives free membership in MAHS for two years, plus five volumes from the History of Art series published by Oxford University Press. MAHS thanks the Oxford Press for its sponsorship.

  • Katherine Brunk Harnish, Ph.D. candidate, Washington University, St Louis, "Painting Ephemera in the Age of Mass-Production: American Trompe l'Oeil Painting and Visual Culture in the Late Nineteenth Century"

Emerging Scholar Distinguished Presentation Award 2017

Award granted to an outstanding paper presented at the MAHS annual conference by an art historian who received their PhD within the last five years. The award includes membership in MAHS for three years.

  • Rory O'Dea, Assistant Professor, Parsons School of Design, The New School University, for his paper, “Documentary Fictions: Robert Smithson and Pierre Huyghe's Voyages into the Unknown"