2011-12 Annual Awards - Awards

2011-12 Annual Awards

Graduate Student Presentation Award 2012

Awarded to an outstanding graduate student paper delivered at the MAHS annual conference, nominated by conference panel chair and selected by a committee of MAHS board members. The winner receives five volumes from the History of Art series published by Oxford University Press. MAHS thanks the Oxford Press for its sponsorship.

  • Sarah Kuenzler, “Elihu Vedder: Transforming the East into a Western Type in the Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam,” University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minnesota

Award for Outstanding Catalog 2011

Award for an outstanding catalog based on scholarly contributions to the field, quality of writing, and design

  • Timothy H. O'Sullivan: The King Survey Photographs, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art

Charles D. Cuttler Award for Contributions to the History of Art 2012

Named for MAHS founder Charles D. Cuttler, to honor art historians, museum directors, patrons, and others who have made contributions to the history of art, with special attention to the Midwest

  • Alvin and Rosa Lee Sarachek, Wichita

President’s Awards 2012

In recognition of exemplary efforts, leadership and service in furthering the mission of the Midwest Art History Society

  • Marilyn Stokstad, University of Kansas, Emeritus