2007-08 Annual Awards - Awards

2007-08 Annual Awards

Graduate Student Presentation Award

The paper selected for the award at the 2007 conference in Indianapolis was by Kathryn O'Rourke, a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Pennsylvania, for her paper entitled "Modern Architecture and Modern Health in Mexico City."

O'Rourke's presentation focused on Carlos Obregón Santacilia’s building for the Secretaría de Salud in Mexico City. When completed in 1929, it represented the most visible and lavish sign of the revolutionary government’s commitment to public health and one of the first examples of Mexican modern architecture. The paper effectively demonstrated the architect's synthesis of abstract classical forms, reminiscent of Mexico's ancient past, with references to modern science in relief panels and sculpture. Inside, murals and rare stained glass panels by Diego Rivera reinforced the ideological program. The committee was impressed both by O'Rourke's effective analysis of Carlos Obregón's architecture and the demonstration of her thesis that the Secretaría de Salud building is a key to understanding how modern Mexican architecture was shaped by the goals of the post-Revolutionary regime. The Midwest Art History Society is honored to be able to support and encourage such excellent work by graduate students.

Award for Outstanding Catalogue

The Midwest Art History Society Board of Directors is pleased to announce the winner of the Midwest Art History Society Award for Outstanding Catalogue for 2007, The Collections of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: American Paintings to 1945, edited by Margaret Conrads. The decision of the Awards Committee this year was unanimous. The catalogue was judged on the basis of scholarly contributions to the field and the quality of writing and design. The Collections of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: American Paintings to 1945 is exemplary on all accounts.

The runner up for the award is The Kimbell Museum for Picturing the Bible, by Jeffery Spier, et al.